Bible study: Wisdom of the Old Testament

Old Testament Wisdom Books Overview

Many people would be aware that the Bible is divided into two major sections: The Old Testament and The New Testament. However, fewer would be aware that the Bible also contains further sub-divisions. The New Testament can be subdivided into at least four sections: The Gospels; Acts; The Apostolic Letters and Revelation. The Old Testament can also be subdivided into at least four smaller units including: The Five Books of Moses; The Historical Books; The Writings/Wisdom Literature and The Prophets. There are more subdivisions we could explore as well. But the purpose of this short Bible study series is to focus on three books from the Writings or Wisdom Literature: Proverbs, Ecclesiastes and Job. These books offer three unique perspectives on pursuing a godly understanding of life in this fallen world.

Ultimately true wisdom is found in following Christ. As an obedient son, Jesus did everything that his Heavenly Father asked of him. However, doing so didn’t bring Jesus worldly wealth, fame and prosperity, but instead humiliation, suffering and death. As Christ’s followers we need to count the costs of following Jesus and keep our eyes fixed on his heavenly reward. This is true wisdom.

Click to download the printouts for the wisdom books bible studies:

Study Bible reference Resources
Overview NA Wisdom 1 – OT Wisdom Books Overview
1 Proverbs 1:1-33 Wisdom 2 – Proverbs one 1 & Sermon
2  Ecclesiastes 1 Wisdom 3 – Ecclesiastes study & Sermon
3 Job 1 Wisdom 4 – A lesson in real-life wisdom from Job & Sermon